AS DOWNTON ABBEY LEAVES US…

Hello Dear Friends,

This month I’m busy with many projects at our store, Nostalgia, and for my fashion events at libraries, senior centers, etc.  With the final episode of Downton Abbey approaching, I have been presenting that theme at many venues.  However, Cocktail, Culture: The Mad Men Era is still going strong, despite the fact that Mad Men ended some time ago.  I am hoping that the Downton Abbey fans continue to want to hear about the fashions of that era and to revisit the beloved characters from time-to-time.  I know that I will.

FullSizeRender (2)

Fashions of Downton Abbey presented at Nostalgia

Another possible fashion era that may interest PBS fans is the Civil War Era, particularly with the recent series Mercy Street, that has been following Downton Abbey on Sunday evenings.  This show is based in a Union-occupied hospital during the Civil War.  Although the show has not yet captured my enthusiasm as did Downton Abbey, I do find the fashions of this time period fascinating.  I’ve always been a Gone With the Wind fan, so those fashions have always held a special place in my heart.  I’ll be presenting “Fashions of the Civil War Era” on April 17 at Greenville Public Library.  I’m excited to see if interest in this period grows in response to the short-seasoned Mercy Street.  This Civil War era image of a woman in repro dress includes one of my favorite accessories of the era: the snood.  Interestingly, although this netted hair accessory was popular during the Civil War, it regained popularity after the 1939 release of Gone With the Wind.

Civil War dress  Thus, when I “channel the 1940s,” I love wearing a snood from my colorful collection of these repro nets.  The turban style also is very glamorous, and is popular in fashion again right now.  It’s a great way, ladies, to remedy a “bad hair day!”

I always enjoy dressing up in repro versions (or, the real thing, whenever possible, ie. The Mad Men Era), but I do not yet own a reproduction outfit from the Civil War Era.  This ensemble is on my wish list, however, for upcoming presentations.  Wish me luck, and please join us in the near future at a library near you!

IMG_1568