STYLING WITH VINTAGE

Hello Friends!

It’s been awhile since my last post, but we’ve been busy at Nostalgia preparing for the launch of our new website and our online store!  Yes, that’s right, we shall be ready within the coming month to surprise you with a wide variety of all things vintage and vintage-inspired.  Below is just a sampling of the merchandise that we will offer at Nostalgia Online.  Computer terminals set up in the store will be available to allow customers to shop while browsing at Nostalgia, but customers will also be able to order from the comfort of their own home.

 

Although in the brick & mortar store, we sell mostly authentic antique and vintage items, many customers have shown an interest in antique- and vintage-inspired pieces, which have the great look of the old, but are new items.  The good news about these wonderful gems is that they may be obtained by the click of a mouse.  For example, shortly after the arrival of 2 table and chair sets similar to the green set above, both of these sold within a few days!  Obviously, some customers do not mind if the item is a true vintage piece or not, as long as it gives them the look that they want.

Along these same lines, I can say that I feel the same way about styling my wardrobe.  Although I adore “real” antique and vintage clothing from various eras, I also enjoy mixing vintage-inspired pieces with the real thing or with basic, staple clothing items and accessories.  As an example, the image below is of me channeling a 1940s look.  None of the items are old, but all are inspired by the glamourous ’40s.  The dress was purchased from a Nostalgia vendor and is a fairly recent style designed to resemble a 1940s silhouette.  The snood is one of 4 that I ordered new from an online vendor and, lastly, the shoes are from the J Peterman catalog.  I have so much fun getting dressed in the morning, and I am very fortunate to be working in a creative fielf that allows for dressing “outside of the box!”  I encourage all of you out there to have fun with fashion and experiment like crazy.  Personal style needs to evolve, just as our personalities and lifestyles tend to evolve and change over time.  Our online store will eventually have offerings of vintage- and antique-inspired fashions and accessories to complement the home décor and other lifestyle pieces at Nostalgia Online.

IMG_1211

When I hold my fashion era presentations at libraries, historical societies, and other venues, I often dress the part using reproduction clothing and accessories from catalogs such as Victorian Trading Company and Pyramid Collection.  These offerings allow me to feel as if I am dressed in the clothing of the era I am representing, without compromising the integrity of delicate and fragile antique pieces.  That said, I had fun putting together this outfit for my “Fashions of the Gilded Age” presentation at Warwick Public Library.

IMG_1280

The blouse is a repro Victorian piece from Nostalgia, the skirt is only a few years old and was purchased at a boutique on Newbury St. in Boston.  The shoes are repro booties from Victorian Trading Co., and my bun is a faux ponytail wrapped and pinned.  The earrings are Victorian style, but are less than one year old.  I felt comfortable presenting in this ensemble, invoking the spirit of The Gilded Age.  Try to incorporate vintage pieces with newer items, and you will create a personal style that is authentic to YOU.  If you need help getting started, please contact me at 401-480-2903 for a consultation.  Happy Styling!

Ren

Leave a Reply

